Got questions about our new planner tool? Find the answers here:
What is the planner?
The planner is a tool that you can use to align the content your students encounter in Prodigy with the material you're teaching in class.
How does it work?
Using a calendar built into the tool, select the content your teaching and the start and end dates for your lessons. When your students login during these dates, they'll receive questions based on your selected content. There is a tutorial set within the tool to guide you through the creation process.
Students will receive planner skills right away provided the plan is active for the current day and students have no assignments in place. Assignments take precedent over planner skills and therefore, are received first.
How do I access the planner?
You can access the planner from your dashboard or from the side bar menu.
How long will my students work on my plan?
Your students will stop working on your plan under the following circumstances:
- The end date for your plan elapses.
- They master the selected skill(s).
- They fail out of the selected skill(s) due to answering several questions incorrectly at which point they'll be moved back to the normal line of questions.
What happens when the end date for my plan elapses?
It depends on a few factors.
- If you have an additional plan set, they'll move on to the next one.
- If you have no additional plan set and your students have mastered the selected skill, they'll return to the normal line of adaptive questions.
- If they were still in progress or were struggling with the skill, they'll continue to work on your planned skill.
How can my student fail out of my planned skill and what happens?
If your student answers three questions from your planned skill incorrectly, they will fail out and be locked out of these questions until they answer at least 20 questions from outside of the skill. If they answer 20 questions outside of the skill, they'll be returned to it the next time they login.
If another skill is available your students will automatically be moved to the next selected skill in your plan. If no additional selected skills are available they'll be moved back to the normal line of questions.
What happens if I create an assignment or have already created an assignment for my students?
Assignments still take precedence over all other material. So, if an assignment has been provided to your students, they will need to complete it prior to receiving your planner skills.
Can I edit who my planner skills are provided to?
No, your planner selected skills will be provided to every member of your class list.
What about my plan can I edit?
During creation, you can select an entire topic to assign or you can customize which skills are selected from within the topic. Once created, you can edit the start and end date of your plans.
How do I edit the start/end date of my plan or delete it?
Click on the skill from your calendar and select "Edit". To delete the plan select "delete".
My students aren't receiving my planner skills, why?
Please check the article here.